(973) 975-4868 (NJ)
(646) 596-1292 (NY)
Labor and Employment Attorneys


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Employment Law Notebook

$15 Minimum Wage Now Set for Public Vote in New Jersey

New Jersey voters will now get the last word on the $15 minimum wage.  Two months after the state legislature passed a bill that would increase the state’s minimum wage to $15 per hour, Governor Chris Christie vetoed the bill.  In announcing his decision, the Governor stated that the wage hike “would trigger an escalation of wages that will make doing business in New Jersey unaffordable”, particularly for smaller businesses that cannot absorb the substantially increased labor costs.   After the Governor announced his decision, several members of the state legislature announced plans to put the issue on the ballot in November.